A Prayer for Fruitfulness

A prayer for today for all who long for greater fruitfulness in the  whole measure of Christian life.

Oh, Father God!  You who sent Your only Son to die for me (1), will You not also graciously give me everything I need? (2)  So, in confidence I ask:

Oh, Father God!  You whose words never fail to accomplish everything you intend (3), accomplish in me Your work of sanctification for Your Name’s sake and according to Your promise (4).

Today, Lord, lead me in paths of righteousness, for Your Name’s sake (5).  Teach me to hear Your Spirit’s voice and direction and make me teachable and obedient to Him.

Today, Lord, I ask you to cause me to grow, as a plant grows under the care of the farmer, or a child in the care of parents.  Water me with Your Holy Spirit until I am soaked.  Irradiate me in the sun of your holiness.  Feed me with the nutrients of Your Word.  May I be rooted in You. (6)

Today, Lord, use me to build up Your Church.  Use my tongue to bring truth and life; use my hands to heal and help. (7)

Today, Lord, prepare me for tomorrow.  May the experiences of today draw me closer to You.  Cause my heart to yearn for more of You.

Today, Lord, show me new treasure in Scripture. (8)  May I be obedient to what you have already shown me.  As you teach me, help me to also learn from You that I may find rest for my soul. (9)

Today, Lord, show me more of how much You have forgiven me that I might love much. (10)

Today, Lord, be my Lord.  May I be obedient in the service of Your kingdom.

Today, Lord, be my Captain.  Prepare my hands for war against spiritual principalities and powers in the heavenly realms that are the enemies of Your Church and Your Kingdom. (11)

Today, Lord, be glorified in me.

Oh, Father God!  I am Your child.  Thank you for being my Father.  I ask for fruitfulness.

References:

  1. John 3:16
  2. Romans 8:32
  3. Isaiah 55:11
  4. Philippians 1:6
  5. Psalm 23:3
  6. John 15
  7. James 3
  8. 2 Timothy 3:16
  9. Matthew 11:29
  10. Luke 7:47
  11. Ephesians 6:12
Leave a Reply

